top of page

The Healer

"The Lord makes firm the steps

of the one who delights in him;

though he may stumble, he will not fall,

for the Lord upholds him with his hand." Psalm 37:23-24


Historically, this day has been difficult for me. And today I felt some of the same feelings, but for the most part, the overarching feeling I had is gratitude.


I have heard it said “time heals all things,” and although time does help - it certainly does not heal. God heals all things. He is THE healer, not just a healer.


The interesting thing about facing difficulty is that so much growth and healing can occur when we decide to spend time in the secret place with the Father, pressing into His word and spending time in prayer, asking Him to teach us and show us great and mighty things. I understand that this often is the opposite of what we want to do, but when we face trials of all kinds, this is the only thing we can do. I remember calling a friend once and asking her to read the Bible over me as I wept. As soon as she was around 3 chapters into the Psalms, my breathing slowed and I began to feel His peace again. The peace that can only come from the source of it all - the Prince of Peace.


Now, I try to not look back on the past too often, but when I do, I can see God’s faithfulness like a painter’s brush, swooping gracefully across my life. I am so thankful for His goodness and mercy that has followed me all the days of my life.


I remember thinking that healing would only occur if certain things happened, if all my questions were answered, if the change I desire occurred. However, I have quickly learned (and trust me, I am not a professional at this at all), that oftentimes, the above will not occur. In Proverbs 3:5-6 it says “Trust in the Lord with all Your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways, acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.” It was not until I was in a situation that lacked understanding that I understood this verse. God’s goal for us is not to understand every situation. His goal is for us to trust Him in every situation. However, as time has gone on and I have grown and matured, I have started to see why certain situations went the way they did.


One final thing about healing - it is so important to delight in the Lord during the healing process, really, during all of life. The more I delight in God, I begin to remember His nature. That He is the King of Kings, the Lord of Lords, the name above all names. The healer, our provider, the creator of the universe. As soon as I begin to meditate on these things, the fear, the hurt, the disappointment, starts to fade and I think how could I not trust Him? His very nature, alone, should give us all the peace, understanding, and freedom we so desire.


I am praying for you today, friends. I am praying that you will turn to Him, whether you are having the best day or the worst day. He truly is everything you need. Give it all to Him today.





bottom of page