top of page

Re-Focus

Genesis 4:5 MSG “God was Behind It.”

"There are dark moments in every adventure. The best novels contain chapters where it looks like all hope is lost, the main character doesn’t stand a chance, doom is certain. But we keep reading, don’t we? We know, deep inside, that something isn’t right. The picture isn’t complete. Resolution will come. The hero will be okay in the end.

Reading these stories teaches us something. We can’t judge the author by a single chapter. We cannot believe that the writer is a terrible person simply because the hero goes through terrible times. On the contrary, we believe that a good author won’t leave the hero in despair. A good author will provide a way out.

In the same way, when we come to God, heavy with our own problems and burdened with the woes of others, we must understand that the story isn’t over. We cannot take too thin a slice of life or history and try to judge God’s character by it. God is ready to write the best possible ending to each person’s life. If you are willing to make Him the Author of your life, He will bring you there no matter how dark your path may be in the process."

Daily in His Presence (Devotional with multiple authors), April 8

I love this. So often, people think that being a Christian means you have a problem-free life… Which is not true, not at all. Jesus told his disciples in John 16:33 “In this world you will have trouble, but take heart, I have overcome the world.”

Here is the good news (if you are a Christian)- we have the promise, the hope, of an eternity of problem-free living in Heaven. HALLELUJAH! If we hold on to this promise, and keep our minds focused on eternity, it is possible to go through things in our lives and still trust God through it all.

I have been going through a waiting season for the past few months, and man, has it been rough at times! But here’s the thing: I have had an unimaginable peace (by the world’s standards) throughout this season. How is that possible?

Here's what I have learned- It is not about me. When I start to focus on my problems, I start to get anxious and I begin to worry. But when I change my focus to my God- The rock that is higher than I (psalm 61:2) , all my worries go away.

It's not about me.

I want to encourage you, that He will come through for you. He has done it countless times for me, and I know He will for you too!

Let's stop focusing on our problems & instead turn our focus to our God. Ask the Holy Spirit to remind you of the things He has done for you in the past, because when you do this, it will fuel your faith and expectation for what He will do in the future.

Think about the faithfulness of God through the many miracles he did in the Bible. The story of Abraham & Sarah having a baby in their old age, Lazarus being raised back to life after 3 days, Meeshak, Shadrach & Abednego being put through the fire, and coming out with no burns to their skin. The story of Daniel in the lions’ den, David defeating Goliath with a sling and a stone, the story of Job, who lost everything but continued to praise God (although he did have his moments).

Like Job, it is okay to have your moments. It is okay to get angry with God, to express your disappointment to Him. But here’s the thing- we can’t stay that way. We can’t stay angry or disappointed with God. We have to shake the dust off of our feet (which in Acts, it says Paul did many times in his ministry) and move forward and trust God again. And I am telling you- He is a God that can be trusted. He loves you despite everything you have ever done… He loves you with an everlasting love.

Rest in that. Trust Him. Run the race & keep your eyes set on the prize- eternity.

Prayer: Holy Spirit take control of everything I think, say and do today (Romans 8:6, "The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace"). Help me to keep my eyes on you- The rock that is higher than I (Psalm 61:2). Remind me of all the incredible things you have done in my life, my friends & family's lives, and in the lives of those in the Bible. You are a God of Miracles! I give you my disappointment, fear, anxiety, worry... I give it all to you. I trust You, Jesus, and I can't wait to see what you do. Amen."

Below is a picture of one of my best college friends, Alana. She reminds me often to keep my focus on Christ!

bottom of page