top of page

Take Heart


“Give up the illusion that you deserve a problem-free life. Part of you is still hungering for the resolution of all difficulties. This is a false hope! As I told my disciples, in this world you will have trouble. Link your hope not to problem solving in this life but to the promise of an eternity in problem-free life in heaven. Instead of seeking perfection in this fallen world, pour your energy into seeking me: the Perfect One. It is possible to enjoy Me and glorify Me in the midst of adverse circumstances. In fact, my light shines most brightly through believers who trust Me in the dark. That kind of trust is supernatural: a production of my indwelling Spirit. When things seem all wrong, trust Me anyway. I am much less interested in right circumstances than in right responses to whatever comes your way.”

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

-Jesus Calling by Sarah young, January 26

I came to Nashville in August 2014. I will never forget the day my parents left. I cried, cried, and cried some more. I have always been close to my family, and leaving home was very hard for me.

A lot of people may think that my sadness signals that maybe this was not the right decision, which is valid in some situations. However, that was not the case for me. I knew God had called me to Nashville.

Here’s the thing: God never promised that the journey with Him would be easy. I have learned that more often than not he takes us out of our comfort zone, so that we can experience what it is like to trust him in the unknown.

I have learned that if you feel God calling you to do something (and you are really seeking him & desiring to follow his will in your life), then you need to take a step of faith & trust him.

After nearly 4 years, I can tell you that I am so glad I took a step of faith & moved to Nashville. It was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I have great friends, mentors, a great church family, and my relationship with God has grown exponentially. The journey has not been easy, but it has been worth it.

Like Jesus Calling said, God never told us that our life would be problem-free. But he did promise that in Him we can take heart & have peace, no matter what troubles we face.

I want to encourage you today that no matter what you are facing or even if everything seems to be going well for you- remember that God brings peace. He is the Prince of Peace & the Lord of Lords. The battle has already been won! Trust Him & obey His voice.

What do you have to lose?

Prayer: "Dear Lord, thank you for who you are- my Healer, Redeemer, and Prince of Peace. You are everything to me. Give me the courage to step out in faith & do what you have called me to do. Thank you for taking care of me & for bringing me peace no matter what I face. Help me to praise you in every circumstance. Thank you for winning the battle long ago & for the promise of an eternity of problem-free living in Heaven. I love you & I trust you, in Jesus' Name, amen."

bottom of page